Menu Close

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Present Board Members

Mark O’Brien
Mark coached for many years in Augusta East Little League before joining the CARA board where he presently serves as an at-large director and CARA President. His profession as an attorney makes him a valuable asset to the CARA board. He has rewritten the bylaws, sub-leases, and he has provided valuable counsel when needed. In addition, he has volunteered for most CARA work projects and has been a key volunteer at the Bob Burns CARA Open. He has served the City of Augusta for many years as a member of the school board and the city council and is presently serving as Augusta’s Mayor.

Vice President
Mark Perry
The son of CARA’s first President, Bill Perry, Mark has been involved with his hometown of Chelsea, and held many offices at CARA.  Mark has been a coach and board member of Augusta Little League, coach and President of Capital Area Youth Softball, All Star/Travel team coach at various levels of baseball and softball. And coached at the house team level and All-Star level for Babe Ruth.  Mark has been a CARA board member for over 10 years, serving in the roles of Secretary, Vice President, Golf Committee Chair, and Co-Chair of the Auction committee. He was a co-recipient of the Joe Linscott Volunteer of the Year in 2019. He is looking forward to many more years working with CARA.

Treasurer & Secretary
Peter Fortunato
Peter is a graduate of Cony High School. Peter participated for a year on the Cony track team, and was fortunate to have his father, Michael Fortunato, as a golf coach for all four years, earning his varsity letter his senior year.

He joined the CARA board in April 2015 as an at-large member and has served as the Board’s secretary since 2021. Peter serves on the Capital Improvements, Golf Tournament, and Live Auction committees. He also works silently in the background to maintain the organization’s electronic records and history and is leading the effort to improve the CARA website and social media presence.  Peter is married to Staci Fortunato, who is currently a school board member who is also a strong supporter of youth sports in Augusta. Peter has been the soccer coach for both of his sons, Andrew and Daniel. He holds US Soccer D and E licenses, was a certified Grade-8 USSF Soccer Referee, and a former player-coach development coordinator for the Augusta Recreation Soccer program for about seven years. He is still a coach for Daniel’s soccer team in both the spring and fall soccer programs.  “As a coach, there is nothing quite like the feeling I get each time the kids ‘figure it out’”, says Peter. “Volunteering with the soccer program and CARA have both been very rewarding experiences, and I feel extremely fortunate to be a part of youth sports in Augusta.”

Directors At Large:

Brian Chamberlin
David Hastings
Don White, Jr.
Eric Lindquist
Erin Carey
Gary Burns
Joe Lajoie
John Fabbricatore
Mark O’Brien
Mark Perry
Mike Bechard
Mike Karagiannes
Mindy Jorgensen
Paul Potvin
Peter Fortunato
Ray Beaudoin
Ryan Dumont
Steve Brooks
Steve Mattice
Sue Brannigan

Members at Large Member Organization Representatives
Bill Burney Basketball
Al Cloutier Babe Ruth
Dan Couverette CAYSA
Tony Dumont CASC
Earl Kingsbury City of Augusta
Mike Tesseo Horseshoes
Darek Grant Little League